Posted: January 6, 2011 in bookclub, Books, C.S. Lewis, Dan Brown
Tags: , , , , ,

Hey guys, hhmm… I am not sure how to start this post… Smile with tongue … ok now I was never into books as i was a kid. Only when i reached high school then i came across a book in the library at school called The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett – which was about a little girl who lost her parents and went to live with her uncle who had a son but hid him from everyone in an issolated room.
Now Mary (the little girl) a selfish and spoilt 11 year old. The other major characters are Master Colin Craven her sickly cousin, Dickon Sowerby the animal charmer, Master Archibald Craven her reclusive uncle, Martha Sowerby a hearty housekeeper, a dour gardener, a cheerful robin and the secret garden. The tone is melodramatic and is told in the third person omniscient. The message about life to be learned from the story is that its never too late to change, no matter how terrible, you can make the best of things. Face the problems instead of cowering from them because if your don’t they’ll never go away. Have a positive attitude, live life and share it with the people around. Alienating yourself is not the solution. Mary, Colin and Archibald Craven are examples of this. Mary didn’t care for anything, she was so spoilt that nothing and no one meant anything to he; she was so used to everybody hating her. Colin is also spoilt and filled with ideas that he’s going to die. Archibald is the coward that can’t face reality or the hope for a better tomorrow. The one thing they all have in common is negatively, you get the sense that they would rather be dead and in reality it’s like they are because they don’t care about anything. Mary is tossed around like a rag doll nobody wants; Colin is expecting to die and Master Craven runs from the possibilities of getting to know his son. In The Secret Garden there is person vs. society and person vs. her/himself. In person vs. society Mary is unloved by her parents and by most of those who she encounters. Her parents ignore her existence and leave her to the care of a hateful ayah. After her parents die she moves to live with her uncle and is greeted by Mrs. Medlock who finds her a disagreeable child. She and others don’t give Mary a chance; they judge and sentence her. They do the same to Colin; they don’t give him hopes of living and expect him to die soon. Person vs. her/himself is found when Mary, Colin and Master Craven have to find the courage to face the harsh world. They all fear this loneliness which they bring amongst themselves by withdrawing themselves from the world The climax in the story would have to be when Mary can’t handle Colins tantrums and all his ranting and raving about the lump on his back that’s going to kill him. She realizes that the way that Colin acts was the same way she used to be and she sets him straight. She doesn’t give in to his hysterics and proves to him that the only lumps on his back are his bones. From that day on things change, Mary tells him about the garden and Colin gets a sudden interest in life. After that Mary takes him to the garden and this view on life changes, he says I shall live for ever- and ever- and ever. It’s a combination of events with the help of different characters that bring this story to its conclusion. But it all starts with Mary’s arrival to the manor and her curiosity about the secret garden. Mary was used to being served and being alone, neglected by her parents she becomes bitter. Full of disagreeable thoughts about her dislikes and sour opinions of people and her determination not to be pleased by or interested in anything. There was no meaning in Mary’s life and that’s why she was bitter, that changed when she moved to Misselthwaite where she discovers the secret garden with fantastic healing powers. The garden is walled up and has been locked up for years. With the gardener’s apprentice, Dickon, Mary coaxes the garden back to life. The garden seems to have a wonderful, magical effect on all those who come into it, allowing Mary to help restore Colin to health and a reunion with his father. It’s a story where faith restores health, flowers refresh the spirit and the magic of the garden coming to life after years of neglect brings both Colin and Mary health and happiness. The garden helped Mary regenerate then helped Colin help himself and at last Master Craven. Hope was regained and the loss they had all endued stayed behind in the past.
After Reading this book i fell in love with the book. But still dint go into reading other books. But just in 2005 in December I went to New Zealand for a month and I went to watch the movie The Chronicles of Narnia – THE LION, THE WITCH AND THE WARDROBE based on the novel by: C.S.LEWIS so I wanted to read the book so I got hold of the book from a library and got so into it that I started reading the next book Prince Caspian: The Return to Narnia . when i came back to fiji in 2006 i tried to look for the other books of the series but was unable to find it in my local library. But i did not give up i looked online for the book and came across the free ebook for the whole series so i was hella excited. it took me a looong while to complete all seven books as i was studying at the same time so i din have much spare time to read it. as a matter of fact i got to complete the last book in 2008 when i completed college. lol Smile with tongue  i know lame aye. but thats how tied up i was with college.
going back to 2006 the movie The Da Vinci Code was released which we all know is based on the novel by the famous Author Dan Brown. Now this movie was banned in my country due to the movie violating some religious standing of the Catholic chruch..Annoyed
So my curious mind start thinking  Thinking smile what could this movie have init that got it banned in many pacific countries, and i went out looking for the book and i got it online so i added it to my reading list and enjoyed it and i looked for all of dan brown books and loved it all. Even though it took me till just 2 months ago to complete all TWELVE books  Hot smile Nyah-Nyah Winking smile  . Considering the amont of set backs that i had in the past 5 years. 
Now i know majority of book lovers may have read all these twelve books (C.S. Lewis and Dan Brown collection)  and also The Secret Garden  but still i would love to give you guys these books to read. Now i would have loved to have hard copy of them to myself unfortunately i don’t so i am placing a link here for you all, where abouts you can download it and read it and share it with you family and friends {if they are into books that is}.
These books are awesome and the Authors C.S. Lewis and Dan Brown are just Amazing.
C.S. Lewis 
 The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe

Prince Caspian: The Return to Narnia

The Voyage of the Dawn Treader

The Silver Chair

The Horse and His Boy

The Magician’s Nephew

The Last Battle

Dan Brown


Digital Fortress

Angels & Demons

Deception Point

The Da Vinci Code

The Lost Symbol

 I only wish i could find The Secret Garden Hard Copy. i would love to read it again.


Hope you enjoy them as much as i did. Happy Reading…SmileStar

  1. By a long shot, one of the best article l have come across on this valuable subject. I quite go along with with your assumptions and will thirstily look forward to your future updates.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s